Home About » About ISBMB

ISBMB, The Israel Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

The Israel Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (www.weizmann.ac.il/isbmb) was founded in 1959 by leading Israeli biochemists of the time. Among them were Professors Aharon and Ephraim Katzir (the latter served as 4th president of the State of Israel), and Professor Shlomo Hestrin, winner of the 1957 Israel Prize, who introduced modern enzyme research in Israel. The international presence of the ISBMB commenced in 1965, when it was accepted as a full member of the Federation of European Biochemical Societies. Among the major goals of the Israeli Society are as follows:

  • Promoting research and teaching in the fields of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.
  • Establishing professional interactions and exchange of information in the above fields, between scientists in Israel and abroad.
  • Holding congresses, workshops and seminars, to facilitate the exchange of information in these fields.

ISBMB members are active in various scientific organizations, not only in Israel but also at the international level. As such, ISBMB members regularly attend international conferences and serve the scientific community through their participation in FEBS committees. Finally, ISBMB members were involved in the organization of two successful FEBS Congresses, the most recent one in 2002. 

FEBS has twin commitments to high-quality publications and the promotion of molecular biosciences. As a charitable academic organization,
FEBS uses income from the journals to fund its diverse activities, including support for the FEBS Congress.